Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Education Notes: Cedar Valley College has new art gallery installation - Dallas Morning News

The Cedar Valley College Educational Art Gallery presents a new installation, “Dialogues: A Conversation Between Artists, Writers and the Like,” featuring visual artists John Taylor and Jonathon Stewart, through Sept. 27. Taylor teaches drawing and printmaking at Cedar Valley. Stewart, a former Cedar Valley instructor, teaches printmaking at Texas Christian University. The gallery is open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. weekdays in Building E on the campus, 3030 N. Dallas Ave. in Lancaster.


W.T. White teacher gets Tech Titans honor

Janine Amy, a geometry teacher at W.T. White High School, was awarded the Tech Titans of the Future Award by the Metroplex Technology Business Council. The award recognizes high school math or science teachers for innovative teaching techniques that inspire student interest in science, technology, engineering or math.


Texas secretary of state to visit UTA campus

Texas Secretary of State Hope Andrade will stop at the University of Texas at Arlington at 12:30 p.m. Tuesday as part of her mission to encourage Generation Y to vote in the upcoming general elections. Andrade’s appearance is hosted by the League of Women Voters-Arlington Area, the UTA Women’s and Gender Studies Program, and the UTA Central Library. Her talk will be in the sixth-floor parlor of the Central Library, 702 Planetarium Place. A buffet lunch will follow.

UT regents honor outstanding faculty

The University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards recently honored faculty members for extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in undergraduate instruction. Each winner received $25,000.

North Texas academic award winners include Elisabeth Cawthon, Christopher Conway, Jonathan Davis-Secord, Victoria Farrar-Myers, K.J. “Jamie” Rogers, Kathleen Tice and Nilakshi Veerabathina, all of UT-Arlington; and Joseph Michael Izen and Clint Peinhardt, both of UT-Dallas.

North Texas health institution award winners from UT Southwestern Medical Center are Preston Blomquist, Susan Cox, Ponciano Cruz Jr., Frederick Grinnell, P. Eugene Jones, Biff Palmer, James Richardson, John Sadler, Jerry Shay and Ellen Vitetta.

SMU chemist receives $250,000 grant

Southern Methodist University chemist Brian Zoltowski received a five-year, $250,000 grant for chemical research from the Herman Frasch Foundation, which supports studies that will help agricultural development. Zoltowski’s research focuses on a protein involved in an organism’s circadian clock that enables plants to know when spring and fall occur and to produce flowers or fruit at the appropriate time of year.

No comments:

Post a Comment